A wonderful evening in the Seasonal Kitchen

For several years I have heard about Dick and Ginger of the Seasonal Kitchen here in Pittsford, NY. They offer cooking classes that are enormously popular with folks returning time and again to learn about and taste delicious dinners. Every personal chef is looking for that kind of success and such a devoted fan base! Well on Thursday night I was finally able to meet Dick and Ginger for myself, and I understood exactly why they have such devoted fans! What a fun evening we had.

Dick and Ginger of the Seasonal Kitchen


Their kitchen is cozy and looks like most folks’ kitchens, not industrial and slick, but full of life and memories from travels and friends. It was not a huge space and 8 of us sat at TV tables along the side of the room while another 8 sat at their kitchen table.
Ginger led our lesson giving tips and talking about our ingredients and Dick was her right-hand man. He was full of puns and humor, and very importantly he knows how to follow his wife’s directions 😉 They were really sweet together and obviously have a great time together doing what they do.
Our menu for the night has a South American flare and included pineapple mojitos, a delicious layered orange and olive salad, a really flavorful stew of Chorizo and black beans with sweet potatoes and mango (!) which was incredibly easy to make and so tasty! For dessert we had a decadent chocolate coffee cheesecake and I would have licked my plate clean if I’d been at home! It was so rich and creamy.
The two hours flew by, we sampled everything and enjoyed every bite and I am really looking forward to going again! Thanks Ginger and Dick!
(I apologize for the dark photos. It’s still winter here and it was dark at 7:30 pm!)

Layered Orange and Olive Salad

Chorizo and Black Bean Stew


Please visit the

One comment on “A wonderful evening in the Seasonal Kitchen

  1. Tracy says:

    It’s been years that I’ve been to a Seasonal Kitchen class but I have recipes that I use over & over that I got from them. They’re great people & I’m glad to hear they are still going strong.

Leave a Reply

