The Cook Whatcha Got and Aid to Haiti Challenge!

Last week, my friend and fellow personal chef, Tami, issued a challenge to “Cook what you have” as a means to stop wasting food and to become more conscious of what we have. As the week progressed, a number of my personal chef friends joined the challenge and we are cooking meals from the bounty within our homes. From our many pantries and refrigerators across the country, my chef friends and I expanded the idea to support the nation of Haiti.

Every day we are seeing people who literally have nothing but the clothes on their back, needing our help, and there is absolutely something that we can do by cooking from our bounty. Of course it is not practical to whip up gourmet meals and deliver them to the Caribbean, but by donating the money each of our families will save this week on groceries we can share our bounty with these devastated people. Each of the chefs is donating to his or her own favorite charity that is working on aid to Haiti, and the money from our challenge week will be given to Catholic Relief Services.

I love this idea, especially for my kids. This is a tangible way that we can work together to help others. Lent is just around the corner, and with it comes the reminder of “alms giving” or sharing with those less fortunate. It’s never too early (or too late for that matter) to help our brothers and sisters in need.

So are YOU in? Share your ideas and recipes here by posting comments and I’ll be posting our experiences here and on Facebook. I am looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with!

3 comments on “The Cook Whatcha Got and Aid to Haiti Challenge!

  1. EAT! says:

    I am in and joining the fun this week. All those half bags of lentils and barley have met their match!

  2. Amy, I’ll be watching what Dinners for a Year comes up with by using what you have!

  3. Martha says:

    Amy will shame us all with her creations. Me, I’m planning on pasta and rice all week! But I certainly have enough.

    My latest post: http://simplydeliciousbymartha.blogspot.com/2010/01/pantry-challenge-day-1-wraps-and-vegs.html

Leave a Reply

