Thai Pot Roasted Chicken

I must have a thing for green chicken recipes. A while back it was chicken with the creamy poblano sauce and tonight it is Thai Pot Roasted Chicken which has a green sauce with cilantro and spinach. I bought this little cookbook called 200 One Pot Meals by Joanna Farrow at Wegman’s. It was only $7.99 and as a personal chef, I love one pot meals that are interesting for my clients and this little book has quite a few. One of the first recipes was this Thai chicken, it’s the first recipe I’ve made from the book and it is a keeper!

Thai Pot Roasted Chicken
Adapted from 200 One Pot Meals by Joanna Farrow
Serves 3-4

This was SOOOOOOO good!!

2 1/2-3lb chicken
1 Tb. Thai Seven Spice seasoning
(I used McCormick brand Far East Seasoning blend)
2 Tb veg. oil
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 hot red Thai chili, seeded and sliced thin
1 1/2 inch piece of fresh ginger, minced (1 Tb of jarred ginger)
3/4 c. chicken stock
2 lemon grass stalks, chopped ( 1 Tb of the tube lemon grass)
1 Tb. fish sauce
1 Tb. sugar
2 Tb lime juice
3 c. cilantro, roughly chopped
1 bunch scallions, roughly chopped
1/2 tsp. turmeric
1 3/4 c coconut milk (1-14 oz. can)
4 c baby spinach ( 1 bag)

Preheat oven to 375º
Rub the chicken skin with the 7-spice seasoning. Heat oil in a dutch oven and brown the chicken on all sides. Add garlic, chili and ginger and cook for 1 minute. Add stock and bring to a boil, cover and bake for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile in the food processor combine cilantro, scallions, lemon grass, fish sauce, lime juice, and turmeric and pulse until finely chopped. Add coconut milk and blend until smooth.

After the 30 minutes, pour the cilantro sauce over the chicken and cook another 30 minutes or until chicken is very tender. Remove from oven, stir in spinach into the sauce, cover and let stand for 10 minutes.

I always use jarred minced ginger as I am too lazy to peel and grate my own; it tastes just as good and it’s much easier. I don’t often use lemongrass, so I bought a tube of it rather than messing with the actual stalks which need to be chopped and mashed to get flavor from it. Again, easier to squeeze the tube.

The chicken was so tender and juicy, and there was quite a bit of sauce left so I froze it and next time will just brown some chicken pieces and then simmer in the sauce for a quick meal!

DSC00954

One pot of delish!


I made jasmine rice for the sauce and a quick stir fry of garlic and ginger snap peas to round out our dinner. It got enthusiastic thumbs up around the table and will definitely be on our menu again this winter!
Enjoy!

2 comments on “Thai Pot Roasted Chicken

  1. charity says:

    hey MB. I finally got around to making this. I could have used more cilantro, didn’t get quite enough and I would like it spicier but I am still enjoying it and looking forward to making soup out of the last of it… can ramp up those spicy flavors then. ( oh and I wish I would have used fresh spinach instead of frozen) I will definitely make this again and put it on my menu for clients. Thanks.

  2. […] my freezer!  I had forgotten how delicious this soup was, made from the carcass and drippings from this recipe.  A big bowl along with a slice of flax bread ( posted earlier) smeared with almond […]

Leave a Reply

